Balance Your Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra

Color – Soft green or pink

Mantra – Yam (“a” is pronounced “ah” as in father)

Location – In the center of the chest, near the heart

Symbol – A lotus flower with twelve petals

Emotions – Love and compassion, healing, relationships, hope, trust, forgiveness, compassion

Lessons to Learn – To feel compassion and connectedness for others & ourselves

The heart and is associated with love, compassion, affection, heartbreak, grief, pain, and fear.

  • Learning self-love is a powerful practice to help maintain a healthy heart chakra.
  • The heart stands at the center of all energies and connects the upper and lower chakras. An imbalance will affect all the other centers; A clearing will improve all the other centers.
  • The heart chakra is the center of compassion & humanitarianism, when the heart is open you care about social causes like saving the whales, kindness to animals and the planet earth.

Illness – Heart pain, Heart attack, High blood pressure, Negativity, Fatigue, Difficulty breathing, Tension, Insomnia, Anger, Paranoia, Cancer.

Balanced Energy – Compassionate, Empathetic, Humanitarian, See the good in everyone, Desire to nurture others, Friendly, Outgoing, In touch with feelings, Sexual energy-can surrender and merge in a love relationship, Can wait for the right partner.

Excessive Energy – Demanding, Overly critical, Possessive, Moody, Melodramatic, Manic-depressive, Use money or sex to control people. Martyra master of conditional love “I love you if” withhold love to get the desired behavior: “You wouldn’t do that if you really loved me.”

Deficient Energy – Paranoid, Feel sorry for yourself, Indecisive, Afraid of letting go and be free. Sexual energy, Feel unworthy love, Can’t reach out, Terrified of rejection. Need constant reassurance.

Ways to Bring Balance

Foods – Green-colored foods. Vegetables – broccoli, kale, cabbage, and leafy greens, sprouts, raw foods, foods rich in chlorophyll

Gemstones – Jade, aventurine, rose quartz, rhodochrosite, malachite, emerald

Essential Oils – Jasmine, lavender, and marjoram

Heart Chakra Mudra

Heart Mudra Hand PositionUsing your right hand, touch the tips of your index finger to your thumb. Put your left hand on your left knee and your right hand in front of the lower part of your breast bone.

Focus on the heart Chakra at the spine, level with the heart, envision the lotus of your heart opening to receive and give love.

Chant “Yam” at least three times. (“a” is pronounced “ah” as in father) Hold the hand position five minutes.